Still a New Grad? Experience and Graduation Limits by Program
Most California residencies are for new graduates, but each hospital draws its own line. Some take only nurses with no RN experience. Others take nurses with up to a year. Some also limit how long ago you graduated. Below is what each hospital's own page says, in its own words.
51 programs state an experience limit · 16 state a graduation limit · 86 have not stated an experience limit we could find
What “New Grad” Means Here
These limits are about work as a registered nurse. Clinical rotations in school do not count as RN work. If you worked as a CNA, PCT or LVN, read the hospital's words below, because they say what counts.
If you are over a program's limit, it is not your only door. Programs with a higher limit are listed below, and a hospital's regular RN jobs are open to experienced nurses.
Experience Limits (51)
No RN Experience (New Graduates Only) (7)
- Community Memorial Healthcare · Ventura · Los Angeles & VenturaNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “No paid RN work experience before the start of the residency program” Source
- Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford · Palo Alto · Bay AreaNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “May not have any paid work experience as a Registered Nurse (RN), at program start.” Source
- UC Davis Medical Center · Sacramento · SacramentoNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “Be first paid position as a RN, including any work in subacute, long-term care, other medical centers or any position that requires a RN license (i.e. no work experience as a RN).” Source
- VA Central California Health Care System · Fresno · Central ValleyNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “MUST not have had ANY paid RN or paid Graduate Nurse Technician (GNT) work experience.” Source
- VA Northern California Health Care System · Mather · SacramentoNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “MUST not have had ANY paid RN or paid Graduate Nurse Technician (GNT) work experience before the start of the program” Source
- VA San Diego Healthcare System · San Diego · San DiegoNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “Have no prior RN work experience” Source
- VA San Francisco Health Care · San Francisco · Bay AreaNo prior RN experience (new graduates only)Their page: “Be serving in their first registered nurse role” Source
Under 6 Months of RN Experience (17)
- Adventist Health · Bakersfield · Central ValleyUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Adventist Health Glendale · Glendale · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Adventist Health Simi Valley · Simi Valley · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Adventist Health St. Helena · Saint Helena · Bay AreaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Adventist Health Twin Cities and Sierra Vista · Templeton · Central CoastUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Adventist Health Ukiah Valley, Clearlake, Mendocino Coast and Howard Memorial · Ukiah · Far NorthUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Adventist Health White Memorial · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Good Samaritan Hospital · San Jose · Bay AreaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “We accept applications from nursing students preparing to graduate within the next six months or graduate nursing students with six months or less of experience at the time of application.” Source
- Kaiser Permanente Southern California · Pasadena · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than 6 months paid RN work experience.” Source
- Rideout (Adventist Health) · Marysville · SacramentoUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than six months direct patient care experience” Source
- Riverside Community Hospital · Riverside · Inland EmpireUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Our year-long, paid nurse residency program is available for nursing students intending to graduate within six months or graduate nursing students with six months or less of experience.” Source
- Scripps Health · San Diego · San DiegoUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Six months or less of RN experience at the date of application” Source
- Stanford Health Care · Palo Alto · Bay AreaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Must not exceed 6 months full-time hours of paid RN work experience (equivalent 1040 hours)” Source
- Stanford Health Care Tri-Valley · Pleasanton · Bay AreaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Must not exceed 6 months full-time hours of paid RN work experience (equivalent 1040 hours)” Source
- UC San Diego Health · San Diego · San DiegoUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Must have less than six (6) months of working RN experience.” Source
- UCLA Health · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “No RN experience or less than 6 months of RN experience in an inpatient setting by the program start date” Source
- Ventura County Medical Center · Ventura · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 6 months of RN experienceTheir page: “No prior acute care experience as a licensed RN or less than 6 months in an inpatient setting” Source
Under 9 Months of RN Experience (1)
- Cedars-Sinai Medical Center · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 9 months of RN experienceTheir page: “You must have less than nine months paid registered nurse experience on the application date.” Source
Under 12 Months of RN Experience (26)
- Arrowhead Regional Medical Center · Colton · Inland EmpireUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Registered Nurse with less than one year of RN experience.” Source
- Barton Memorial Hospital · South Lake Tahoe · SacramentoUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Must have less than one year paid RN experience, and/ or graduated from an international school of nursing” Source
- Children's Hospital Los Angeles · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “You are a new graduate or an RN with less than one year of nursing experience in any area by the start of the program” Source
- Dameron Hospital · Stockton · Central ValleyUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “For registered nurses with less than 12 months of acute care experience, Dameron Hospital has partnered with Adventist Health in providing a new graduate residency program designed to offer comprehensive support during the transition from academia to professional practice.” Source
- Emanate Health · Covina · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Acceptance to the program is year round and open to all new graduate nurses with less than 12 months of acute care experience, foreign-trained nurses entering United States (US) healthcare system, and reentry nurses in acute care settings.” Source
- Foothill Regional Medical Center · Tustin · Orange CountyUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Experience: Less than 12 months of acute care hospital-based experience as a licensed RN prior to starting the program” Source
- Huntington Health · Pasadena · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Newly graduated Registered Nurse with a total of less than one year of nursing experience in any area by the start of the program.” Source
- Kaweah Health Medical Center · Visalia · Central ValleyUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than 1 year experience as a nurse” Source
- Keck Medicine of USC · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than one year of acute care hospital-based experience as a licensed RN prior to start” Source
- Loma Linda University Health · Loma Linda · Inland EmpireUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Must have less than 12 months of RN work experience by the start of the program.” Source
- Los Angeles Community Hospital · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Experience: Less than 12 months of acute care hospital-based experience as a licensed RN prior to starting the program” Source
- Memorial Medical Center · Modesto · Central ValleyUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Recent nursing graduates with less than one year of experience will automatically be enrolled into the residency as part of their employment (there is no separate application).” Source
- O'Connor Hospital · San Jose · Bay AreaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “If you have less than one year of acute care experience and would like to join Nurse Training Program, please apply to all “Clinical Nurse I” positions as they become available on the County of Santa Clara’s Jo b Board.” Source
- Providence Queen of the Valley Medical Center · Napa · Bay AreaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Graduated from an accredited nursing program and have less than 12 months of RN experience.” Source
- Providence Santa Rosa Memorial Hospital · Santa Rosa · Bay AreaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Graduated from an accredited nursing program and have less than 12 months of RN experience.” Source
- Providence Southern California · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Graduated from an accredited nursing program and have less than 12 months of RN experience.” Source
- Providence St. Joseph Hospital Eureka and Redwood Memorial (Humboldt) · Eureka · Far NorthUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Graduated from an accredited nursing program and have less than 12 months of RN experience.” Source
- Rady Children's Hospital · San Diego · San DiegoUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Less than 12 months RN work experience by the program start date” Source
- Southern California Hospital at Culver City · Culver City · Los Angeles & VenturaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “Experience: Less than 12 months of acute care hospital-based experience as a licensed RN prior to starting the program” Source
- Sutter Health · Sacramento · SacramentoUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “At Sutter, every new nurse with less than one year of experience has the opportunity to participate.”” Source
- Sutter Health (Bay Area) · Oakland · Bay AreaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “At Sutter, every new nurse with less than one year of experience has the opportunity to participate.”” Source
- Sutter Health (Central Coast) · Santa Cruz · Central CoastUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “At Sutter, every new nurse with less than one year of experience has the opportunity to participate.”” Source
- Sutter Health (Central Valley) · Modesto · Central ValleyUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “At Sutter, every new nurse with less than one year of experience has the opportunity to participate.”” Source
- Sutter Health (Far North) · Crescent City · Far NorthUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “At Sutter, every new nurse with less than one year of experience has the opportunity to participate.”” Source
- VA Palo Alto Health Care System · Palo Alto · Bay AreaUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “First RN role and/or have less than one year of RN experience” Source
- Valley Children's Hospital · Madera · Central ValleyUnder 12 months of RN experienceTheir page: “The year-long program offers a supportive learning environment for newly licensed (or soon-to-be licensed) registered nurses and nurses with less than 12 months of experience.” Source
The other 86 programs have not stated an experience limit we could find. That does not mean they have none. Check their page before you apply.
Graduation Limits (16)
How long ago you can have graduated. Some count from the program start date, so read each one.
- Cedars-Sinai Medical Center · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “You must have completed your nursing program within the last 12 months by the application date.” Source
- Los Angeles Community Hospital · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “Education: Graduate from an accredited nursing program within the last 12-14 months; associate degree in nursing (ADN) or BS in nursing (BSN) preferred” Source
- Rady Children's Hospital · San Diego · San DiegoGraduated within 12 months of the program startTheir page: “Graduate of an accredited ADN, BSN or MSN program within 12 months of the cohort start date” Source
- Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital · Santa Barbara · Central CoastGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “New graduate nurses-Graduation from an accredited academic program within 1 year” Source
- Scripps Health · San Diego · San DiegoGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “Completion of an accredited nursing program within the last 12 months at the date of application” Source
- VA Central California Health Care System · Fresno · Central ValleyGraduated within 12 months of the program startTheir page: “MUST have graduated less than a year from program start date with a GPA 3.0 or greater.” Source
- VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System · Los Angeles · Los Angeles & VenturaGraduated within 12 months of the program startTheir page: “Graduate no more than 12 months before program start date” Source
- VA Northern California Health Care System · Mather · SacramentoGraduated within 12 months of the program startTheir page: “Must have graduated less than a year from program start date with a GPA 3.3 or greater” Source
- VA Palo Alto Health Care System · Palo Alto · Bay AreaGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “No longer than 12 months shall elapse from the time of graduation from the prelicensure nursing program to admission into the residency program.” Source
- VA San Diego Healthcare System · San Diego · San DiegoGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “Have graduated within the past 12 months or be a pending graduate of a BSN or MSN entry level program from a CCNE or ACEN accredited nursing program” Source
- VA San Francisco Health Care · San Francisco · Bay AreaGraduated within the last 12 monthsTheir page: “Be a recent graduate within the past 12 months” Source
- Foothill Regional Medical Center · Tustin · Orange CountyGraduated within the last 14 monthsTheir page: “Education: Graduate from an accredited nursing program within the last 12-14 months; associate degree in nursing (ADN) or BS in nursing (BSN) preferred” Source
- Southern California Hospital at Culver City · Culver City · Los Angeles & VenturaGraduated within the last 14 monthsTheir page: “Education: Graduate from an accredited nursing program within the last 12-14 months; associate degree in nursing (ADN) or BS in nursing (BSN) preferred” Source
- Stanford Health Care · Palo Alto · Bay AreaTheir two pages disagree. The program page says within 19 months of the cohort start. Their FAQ says no more than 18 months. Plan on 18 months and ask them which applies.Their page: “Must have graduated from an accredited nursing program within 19 months from the cohort start date. ... the official graduation date is no greater than 18 months from cohort start date” Source
- Stanford Health Care Tri-Valley · Pleasanton · Bay AreaGraduated within 19 months of the program startTheir page: “Must have graduated from an accredited nursing program within 19 months from the cohort start date.” Source
- Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula · Monterey · Central CoastGraduated within the last 24 monthsTheir page: “Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula offers an outstanding 8–12-week training program for nurses who have graduated in the last two years.” Source
Get the Alert the Day One Opens
One email when a program in your area opens, with who can apply. Alerts are free.
Common Questions
- What counts as a new grad nurse?
- Each hospital decides. Of the 51 California programs that state an experience limit, 7 take only nurses with no RN experience, 17 take under 6 months, 1 takes under 9 months and 26 take under 12 months. Clinical rotations in school do not count as RN work. If you worked as a CNA, PCT or LVN, read the hospital's own words below: they say what counts.
- Can I apply with RN experience?
- Sometimes. 44 of the 51 programs that state a limit take nurses with some RN experience, most often under 12 months, and 7 take none. Past a program's limit, a hospital's regular RN jobs are the usual path. Each limit below links to the hospital's own page.
- How long after graduating can I apply?
- 16 programs state a limit on how long ago you graduated, most often 12 months. The rest do not state one that we could find. Check the hospital's own words below, because some count from the program start date.
Also see when each program opens, programs that accept ADN graduates and what programs ask for on a resume.